The Calf – Howgill Hills

Grid reference : SD 66733 97055
Type : Pillar
Flush Bracket : S5676
OSGB36 Station : SD47/37
Current use : none
Historic use : Secondary
County : Cumbria
Nearest town : KENDAL
Did this walk with my partner on 2nd of Oct 2016. We started at cautley spout, climbed the semi-steps up the side of the water fall and followed the gill (stream) up to the calf where we stopped for lunch and were met by a sheep who seemed determined to steal our food.
I had not planned this challenge at that time so didn’t think to get a photo of myself there, but it’s a photo taken with my camera and has my partner and my rucksack in it so for now I am going to count it
I do actually have a bit of a backlog of trig points I have been to but do not have documentation of. I am currently trying to decide if I need to redo these or not… I guess we’ll see how it all goes down the line

Leave a comment