My 2000 Mile Challenge for Mountain Rescue

I’m sure that by now everyone knows that I am doing Country Walking’s 1000 mile challenge, in which one pledges to walk 1000 miles over the course of a year. Well I also signed up to run 1000 miles over the course of the year. Ask anyone I know and they will tell you that walking isn’t a huge challenge to me, I love walking, if it was socially acceptable I would buy a tent and walk and wild camp for the rest of my life. However, running is a totally different thing… I have never really been a runner, I did the odd distance run at school and when I was a cadet, but for the last few years not run and have avoided taking it back up. 6 months ago I couldn’t manage a mile running, now I can just about do three miles.

So I decided that I’d combine these to make a real challenge and as I have been wanting to raise money for Mountain Rescue for a while though why not combine the two?

.

And so the 2000 mile challenge was born. The plan being to run 1000 miles and to walk 1000 miles. Now there are some rules,

  • general everyday steps do not count, only purposeful walks and runs.
  • a walk/run has to be at least 1 miles in length to count, so no doing loads of small things and adding them up
  • treadmill running is allowed but walking is not, so regardless of the weather or life I have to make time and face the weather to get outside everyday
  • multi day walks are allowed and will be well researched and documented – also multi day walks will result in a few runless days and so a run deficit which doesn’t sound appealing :/
  • although I own a garmin activity tracker it will not be trusted explicitly and all distances will be checked on a map

I will be using this blog and my twitter feed to document the walks/runs and to keep a running total of my target. I have decided that starting next week I will write at least one blog a week documenting either a longer walk or just the most interesting of the shorter walks, I will not be documenting every single one with a blog as that would just result in too much time on the computer.

..

.

Running totals:

.

Walking = 55/1000

Running = 26/1000

Leave a Reply

