Grimston Trig Point

Grid reference : SE 64184 51164
Type : Pillar
Condition : Destroyed
County : North Yorkshire
Nearest town : YORK
I got the park and ride from grimston bar into town yesterday for a meeting, afterwards I  decided to walk back to the car – in part due to the walk 100 miles challenge I’ll admit 😛
untitled
anyway, once I was almost back at the car I realised that I was close to the site of the destroyed Grimston trig point. From my understanding this was destroyed when they created the mound around the science park and sports centre to hide it from the road. However, there are a lot of different stories flying about as to why it was destroyed, this just seems to be the most popular reason/theory, I can’t find a definite answer – will have to keep looking.
So anyway, here is the approx site of the trig pillar and the view towards York from it.
Leave a Reply

