Wykeham Forest + Coombe Hill Trig Point

I have been so useless at updating this… apologies for that, essentially I can only do the blog from my computer whereas twitter, etc, I can do from my phone. As such I keep not getting round to putting the computer on and doing anything, not a great excuse really…

 

 

but anyway, last week 2/04/2017 I bagged another trig point.

coomb hill


Name: Coomb Hill

GridRef: SE 94358 88966

Flush Bracket: S6321


 

I had never heard of Wykeham Forest before this, despite going MTBing in Dalby Forest fairly often which it basically right next door. We didn’t exactly have a route planned, we just went to the trig point, then to a great viewpoint nearby called “raptor viewpoint” the name of which I feel it self explanatory đŸ˜› but essentially it’s a viewpoint overlooking Troutsdale that is meant to be amazing for birdwatching. We didn’t stay there long and didn’t see much, but there were some people there with some serious equipment so I assume it probably lives up to its reputation.

We then had an 8 mile wander around the forest, I think we’ll probably go again, but with a better planned route in mind next time.

 

That’s one of the great things about trig point bagging, I am discovering all sorts of places that I don’t think I would have visited otherwise. I mean some of the places aren’t great, a lot of roadside trigs or urban trigs which just do not appeal to myself, but I can usually find a walk in the area to make up for that. There are a few trigs though that are in amazing places, placers I never knew existed before this venture.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

